Montmorency by Eleanor Updale

March 1, 2008 clorindat
Tags: , , ,

montmorency.jpg

I don’t normally read “kids” books. Well, apart from Harry Potter that is. So this was an unexpected surprise.

Montmorency is a young adult book that was recommended to me by a friend. It certainly grabbed my attention before I read it, because it’s set in my favourite era – Victorian.

Without giving away loads of spoilers, the book is about a thief who, after he leaves prison sets out on a daring adventure. (Sorry to be vague, but I don’t want to ruin the story for you). But it involves the London Sewers and daring escapades….

Much of the time, the book doesn’t feel like a teen book. Well done Ms Updale on her excellent writing. She also has a great ability to make you like Montmorency despite some of the things he does….a rare thing in fiction I find.

The book has won a Blue Peter award (don’t let that put you off!) and it’s well deserved. I thoroughly recommend it. There are other books in the series, and I’m currently reading the second one. I’ll leave a review when I’m done with it.

Rating: 10/10

Entry Filed under: Victorian

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
