Marrying Max by Nell Dixon

March 3, 2008 clorindat
Tags: , , ,

marryingmax.jpg 

This review is for my first EBook. Well, the first book I’ve purchased as an ebook….there are plenty of free ebooks available on the Girl Ebooks website. I have a Blackberry phone, and download my ebooks onto that. Very handy!

This book is the winner of the Romantic Novelist Association Romance Award in 2007. That is the sole reason why I read it, and I must say, I enjoyed it a lot. I’m sure what titles it was up against, and I must admit, it’s not usually the sort of book I read, it being a “category romance”, and it NOT being a historical.

The characters are are well drawn, believeable and likeable and the storyline is very good, and though the things that happen are not world changing, you feel they are for the characters. Which, in fact makes me think Nell Dixon did a very good job in writing it. As each chapter ends, you read on quickly to find out what happens next.

As usual, I won’t give away any plot details, but if you like escapism with a happy ending, then this book is definitly for you.

There is a gentle humour in the story and I found myself chuckling very often.

My only criticism of it is that at the ending could have been a bit longer. It felt a little rushed, but I suppose this genre has a shorter wordcount. But if the only criticism for a book is that it wasn’t long enough, then it can’t be too bad!!

I will be looking out for other works by Nell Dixon.

Marrying Max can be purchased from Samhain Publishing at the bargain price of approx £2.25. What are you waiting for?

Rating 9/10

Entry Filed under: Ebooks,Romance

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Juliet Archer  |  March 4, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Hi Clorinda T,

    Great idea for a website!

    I enjoyed Marrying Max too, although I felt it petered out a bit from a really strong start.

    If you like historical, have you tried A Chance to Dream by Lynne Connolly? Also from Samhain, I think?

    Juliet xx

  • 2. clorindat  |  March 4, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Hi Juliet,

    Yes, I’ve read Chance to Dream, and funnily enough, I was about to add it to my list of recommended reading!

    Great minds think alike!

    Clorinda
    x

  • 3. Nell Dixon  |  March 4, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Hi Clorinda and Juliet,
    I’m so glad you both enjoyed Marrying Max. Thank you for the lovely comments and I hope you don’t mind me having dropped by to say hello when someone mentioned the nice things you’d said.

  • 4. clorindat  |  March 5, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Greetings Nell,

    Of course I don’t mind you dropping by!

    Clorinda
    x


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
