World Book Day – 6th March

March 6, 2008 clorindat
Tags: , ,

Today is world book day. I went to my local library and they are running a competition for people to vote for their most favourite book. I have a few days to decide, but I think I’m going to have to vote for Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

I feel a little predicable by picking that, but I think it’s the one book I’ve re-read the most, and I can remember being swept away by. I haven’t re-read it in a while, but it is my one “comfort book” that I go back to time and again.

Other favourite books of mine can be found on my “My Favourite Reads” page.  I’m adding to this when I remember books I’ve read and loved…..so the current list isn’t exhaustive.

Feel free to comment on your favourite all time book!

Clorinda

Entry Filed under: Comments

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Juliet Archer  |  March 7, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Again, I can only agree with you. For me it has to be something by Jane Austen – she’s one of the few authors I re-read – and P&P has more humour than my other favourite, Persuasion. Among the more modern stuff, I love ‘I Capture the Castle’ by Dodie Smith – like P&P, a timeless love story.

  • 2. clorindat  |  March 8, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I love Persuasion too – it’s a very close second to Pride and Prejudice. Very true about less humour in Persuasion. I’d never thought of it that way.

    I’ve read I capture the Castle, and though I liked it, I’m not that bothered about a re-read. Not yet anyway.

  • 3. CJ  |  March 12, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Ooh this is a close one for me, it usedto be a close run between P&P, and N&S

    What wows me in N&S, is the heros feeling being writen for the reader to take on board.

    What wows me in P&P imainly the humour, but the witty incites into human nature by Jane Austen…now having been away from both books for a little while. P&P does it for me overall.

    Predictable maybe, but there are notny books that can be reread, so it has to be a good book for that alone.

    Oher favourite are Three Men in a boat, by Jerome K Jerome,and most books by Gerald Durrell….I’ve just realised that all 3 writers could tap into what makes us humans tick, and then managed to creat humour out of it!

    CJ x


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
