Just Say Yes by Myretta Robens

March 17, 2008 clorindat
Tags: , , ,

justsayyes.jpg

I read this book a few weeks ago, and I had to buy from the USA via ABE books. It cost me 50p, though the postage was a few pounds on top. (You can order it from Amazon.co.uk, but you may want to read my review before you do!)

Ok, what can I say? This regency book had so much potential to be a great but was a bit of a let down. The blurb sounded great, and the book starts off well. The story is about a member of the aristocracy moonlighting secretly as a groom. He then falls for a local clergyman’s daughter. Thereby there are lots of class issues over their romance, as well as the fact that the hero is hiding his true identity from the heroine. However, there are parts that are just plain boring, and though I did manage to finish this book, I was just “going through the motions” because I felt that I’d got that far, I should finish it. Some of the minor characters seemed cliched too (the heroine’s mother and the squire’s son).

The problem is, I don’t actually know what was wrong with this book. The writer is american but she did a great job of not having an american tone to the book. The story is good, and the ending satisfactory. The writing and description was good, the heroine well rounded. The hero was also nice. But it just missed the “X-factor” or the book equivalent of the X Factor. (You you see what I mean).

So, I’m sure I can recommend this. My rating says it all really..

Rating: 5/10

PS  I also recently read her book “Once Upon a Sofa” which I won’t review because I hate to give ratings under 5….

Entry Filed under: Regency,Romance

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
